I’ve been baking….

For some reason I wanted to try truffles this year.  They looked easy to make and easy to transport.  Well…….

They are easy to make, but boy are they time consuming.  I had a list of different ones I wanted to try.  Let’s just say, I only completed one recipe.  The family and co-workers really liked them, but I won’t be making them again.  I’ll stick to plain ol’ chocolate chip cookies.

Anyway, here are the truffles I ended up selecting.

They look great, right?  Easy, right?  Time consuming, YES!

Here is the recipe for Paula Dean’s Cookie Dough Truffles.

The reason they are not for me:

1.  Make the dough

2. Refrigerate

3.  Roll into balls

4. Refrigerate

5.  Melt Chocolate (I had to learn another lesson about this)

6.  Dip balls

7. Refrigerate remaining cookie balls (since I’m slow in the dipping process, I kept having to put the ball back in the refrigerator to keep cold)

8.  Dip some more

9. Refrigerate some more

10.  See a pattern?  Since there are sooooooo many ball it took me a very long time to go through this process.  If I just kept going and not refrigerate them they kept squishing down into a disk shaped ball, not a true ball.  They are very yummy, but again, not for me.

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’ve been baking….

  1. Myrna says:

    Lea
    They look wonderful and I am sure very yummy. I know what you mean about time consuming. I do rum balls every year (dozens of them) but I have learned to do them in the evening and sitting down to watch t.v. lol
    Have a Merry Christmas.
    Myrna

  2. Heidi says:

    I used to make baklava at Christmas time – not a difficult task but very time consuming as well! Just downloaded the sock monkey svg. Sooo cute! Thanks so much!

    Heidi

Leave a Reply

